1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Sara Groves - 'The Other Side of Something'

About.com Rating 3 Star Rating


The Other Side of Something

Sara Groves - The Other Side of Something

INO Records

The Bottom Line

The The Other Side of Something, the third release from Sara Groves, shows her own growth while keeping with her traditional honest and straight-forward style. If you like your pop to have a little folk-flair, then you'd do well to buy this CD.
<!--#echo encoding="none" var="lcp" -->


  • An honest, inspiring offering from Sara Groves
  • The focus, as is usual for Sara, stays on God


  • The style isn't a personal favorite but that doesn't take away from the product


  • Style: pop/folk
  • 11 Songs
  • Released March 23, 2004 on INO Records

Guide Review - Sara Groves - 'The Other Side of Something'

In typical Sara Groves fashion, The Other Side of Something delivers honesty without adding a great deal of technical flair to "pump up" the music. Of the lyrics, she says, "Spiritually, it's where I was". "I felt beat up, but I returned to my corner. Now I'm rested and ready to go. And I feel more sure of my call, more confident in what I'm doing."

Of the eleven songs on the album, six of them were stand-outs in my opinion. The upbeat sound of "The One Thing I Know" is a strong contrast to the dark but building beat of "Jeremiah". "Roll to the Middle" is one of those songs that is a good tune to do some deep thinking to. Despite a somewhat repetitive musical beginning, "What I Thought I Wanted" turns into a really great song. "Esther" gives you a nice musical twist behind a powerful story and "Boxer" is just an all-around great song.

Sara has a sound not unlike Jewel and Sara McLaughlan. Not being fans of either one made it difficult for me to really get into this CD, but the fact that the style is not one of my personal favorites doesn't take away from the fact that this is a good, strong release. The lyrics are as deep and moving as they come and Sara has a strong voice. The production value that Charlie Peacock and Nate Sabin bring to the table is A-1 and if you like this style of music, you won't go wrong with this CD.

The Other Side of Something Track Listing:

  1. "One Thing I Know, The"
  2. "Jeremiah"
  3. "Compelled"
  4. "Roll to the Middle"
  5. "What I Thought I Wanted"
  6. "Esther"
  7. "The Boxer"
  8. "Undone"
  9. "All I Need"
  10. "Like a Skin"
  11. "Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing"

<!--#echo encoding="none" var="lcp" -->
Disclosure: A review copy was provided by the publisher. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.