1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Jeremy Camp - 'Reckless'

From Difficult Times to Good Ones, Camp Shares a Reckless Faith Through it All

About.com Rating 4 Star Rating


Jeremy Camp - Reckless

Jeremy Camp - Reckless

bec Recordings

Jeremy Camp started his public journey as a broken man who had lost his wife. Eleven years later, he's truly a new man in Christ. Remarried with three children, this is a man who has recklessly pursued Christ through it all - the good and the bad, the joy and the sadness. That faith has set him free and he invites us to join him in that freedom, worshiping with reckless abandon, on Reckless.

Take Nothing for Granted

  • Style: Christian Rock
  • 11 Songs
  • Time: 41 minutes
  • Release Date: February 12, 2013
  • Label: BEC Recordings

What jumps out the most about the overall theme of the album is that we should take nothing for granted and remember truth every single day. Each moment is a gift and if we squander it, it's gone in a blink. Our salvation is a present - not a given that we can shove onto a back closet shelf and open up at some point in the far off future when it suits us. Jeremy shares these unquestionable reminders with flair and a tender touch.

A favorite track comes in early as the third song on the release. "Free" prompts us to remember that no matter what chains life wraps around us in an attempt to drown our spirits, Jesus has set us free. True freedom starts the day we ask Christ into our lives but we have to accept it and act on it. It does us no good if we forget that we have it.

"Reign In Me," another favorite that resonates in my heart, offers a touch of violins as Camp beseeches Jesus to let him be a living example of God. (I want all who I meet to see You through me. I want all that I speak to be You) If we forget that God lives in us, we won't be good examples to others of His love.

Closer, "Without You," leaves us with the important reminder that moving on our own, without waiting on the Lord, is not a smart move. If we aren't patient enough to wait on Jesus to guide our steps, we can end up lost. In this day and age of rushing to get through the day, to the top or to the finish line, this is one message that we should keep with us always instead of taking for granted that God will "do His thing" regardless of what steps we take.

Bottom line: Solid vocals, just enough rock and a message that we can all relate to on whatever level we're currently at - it's not reinventing the wheel but it's still very, very important. That's what you get with Reckless.

Reckless Track List:

  1. Reckless
  2. The Way You Love Me
  3. Free
  4. Paradise
  5. We Must Remember
  6. Shine
  7. Come Alive
  8. My God
  9. We Need
  10. Reign in Me
  11. Without You
Disclosure: A review copy was provided by the publisher. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.