1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Newworldson - 'Rebel Transmission'

Rising up against the generic

About.com Rating 4.5 Star Rating


Newworldson - Rebel Transmission

Newworldson - Rebel Transmission

Platinum Pop

If you're a fan of Newworldson, you already know that their sound defies any "standard" categorization. Rather than trying to sound like the popular bands of 2008, their debut release, Salvation Station, delivered a new and diverse sound that blended everything but the kitchen sink and nailed it on all 11 tracks. The group came back in 2010 with a self-titled sophomore release that solidified their commitment to being themselves and avoiding the cookie-cutter mentality.

Fast forward to 2012 and Rebel Transmission is right in line with Newworldson's track record. Pop, gospel, blues, jazz, funk, folk and even a touch of doo-wop and country meet Motown. Eleven songs with lyrics that speak to you and a band that is so tight, you could bounce a whole roll of quarters off of them if they were a mattress!

'Rebel Transmission' - All Talent, No Static

  • Style: Newworldson's trademark "everything but the kitchen sink" style
  • 11 Songs
  • Time: 37 minutes
  • Release Date: April 17, 2012
  • Label: Platinum Pop

After falling in love with Newworldson's first two CDs, I had high hopes and expectations of total excellence for Rebel Transmission. Once I found out that my review copy had been mailed, I practically stalked our postal delivery lady, waiting by the mailbox every morning. When the CD actually got here, I'm fairly certain that I scared her with my happy dance in the street! I rushed inside, tore open the envelope and then froze. What if this third release was a letdown? What if it was more like "normal" music and there were several "OK but skippable" tracks? What if this transmission had some static? Silly? Probably, but as music is a huge part of my ministry, I take it very, very seriously. When a band has had a track record of amazing music from start to finish on all of their projects (as has been the case with Newworldson), it's a pretty big blow if they slip to average.

I really shouldn't have worried. Even though the lyrics on "Shake Holy Spirit" were minimal at best, the groove made up for it in every way that counts. Adding in the other ten songs made the overall package a total and complete winner.

Opening radio single, "Learning to Be the Light," has already given you a taste of how the band mixes a playful sound with serious lyrics. If you haven't seen the official video, be sure to check it out. I would love to look out my window and see the band playing in my neighborhood! (My daydream is to get a notification that Newworldson is going on tour with Jimmy Needham and they're coming to my town!) The merriment continues with songs like "5, 6, 7, 8," which will get you on your feet and have you singing along with the "na na na" chorus early on. My favorite track, "Old Time Religion," mixes fun with funk and asks the question, "How can you call it old time religion when it's right here and right now?".

Bottom Line - Rebel Transmission will get you on your feet. It will soothe your soul while speaking to your heart. You'll find yourself singing along with Joel Parisien with a grin as wide as your entire face and when the notes of the last song fade, your day will look a little brighter than it started out looking.

Rebel Transmission Track Listing:
  1. Radio Ghost Town
  2. Homeless Child
  3. Learning to Be the Light
  4. 5, 6, 7, 8
  5. Old Time Religion
  6. Today
  7. Sweet Grace
  8. Selah
  9. Son of Man
  10. Southern Cross
  11. Shake Holy Spirit
Disclosure: A review copy was provided by the publisher. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.