1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Matt Redman - '10,000 Reasons'

About.com Rating 5 Star Rating


Matt Redman - 10,000 Reasons

Matt Redman - 10,000 Reasons

sixstepsrecords/Sparrow Records

The Bottom Line

I'm not sure if I can find 10,000 reasons for you to buy Matt Redman's 10,000 Reasons, but I can come up with a bunch! Sincere and honest lyrics, unquestionable passion, the combined resources and voices of over 1,000 worship leaders from across the country (it was recorded live during LIFT: A Worship Leader Collective in February 2011), an authenticity that plugs you right into the Throne Room, exquisite musicianship ... and that is just touching the tip of the iceberg!


  • Open and honest lyrics
  • passion, Passion, PASSION!


  • I've listened to the entire release twice now and can't find a single flaw.
  • A companion DVD of the conference would have been a great addition but I don't see news of one.


  • 11 songs
  • Release Date: July 12, 2011 on sixstepsrecords/Sparrow Records
  • Style: Worship

Guide Review - Matt Redman - '10,000 Reasons'

Matt Redman alone writes some of the most beautiful worship music out there today. But when put him in a room with folks like Chris Tomlin, Jason Ingram, Jesse Reeves, Jonas Myrin, Matt Maher and Tim Wanstall, pure magic happens! 10,000 Reasons is a prime and perfect example of that magic.

The honesty of the lyrics is what jumped out at me first. Matt hasn't lived a live free of struggle and instead of throwing on the good old "I'm living a picture perfect life because I'm saved!" mask, he shares that truth. "Where Would We Be," my favorite track, is a prime example of that honesty. Where we be without your love? We'd still be lost in darkness. Where would we be without your cross? You made a way to save us.

The accessibility of the project caught my attention second. Redman keeps is simple without using too many "church" buzz-words and without a ton of over-done repetition. He has said that it comes from joining a new church after moving back to Brighton, UK last year and being "mindful of the un-churched coming in" while not "watering down your faith."

The final ear and heart grabbing moments came from the fact that the music is just plain good! I could write paragraph after paragraph detailing chord progressions, emotional lyrics, and individual songs, but the bottom line is that this is probably Matt Redman's best release to date. Maybe it's because it's a live project; maybe it's because Matt has gone back home to the UK. The why isn't nearly as important as the what here, and the what is that this is an amazing release!

10,000 Reasons Track Listing:

  1. We Are The Free
  2. Here For You
  3. Holy
  4. 10,000 Reasons (Bless The Lord)
  5. Fires
  6. Never Once
  7. Where Would We Be
  8. We Could Change The World
  9. Magnificent
  10. Oh this God
  11. Endless hallelujah
Disclosure: A review copy was provided by the publisher. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.