1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Sanctus Real - 'Run'

Ardent Messages Rooted in Faith

About.com Rating 4.5 Star Rating


Sanctus Real - Run

Sanctus Real - Run

Sparrow Records

If you are looking for lyrics that are straight from the heart and filled with an impassioned message of faith, then run towards Run by Sanctus Real on February 5th! With Chris Stevens (Shawn McDonald and TobyMac), Jason Ingram (Brandon Heath and Todd Agnew) and Seth Mosley (Mark Schultz and Newsboys) at the production helm helping present twelve endearing songs (and four additional treasures on the deluxe edition with a remix of "Run" that will get you on your feet), this is truly a "can't go wrong" combination.

Sanctus Real is Still Standing on Solid Ground

  • Style: Contemporary Christian Pop
  • 17 Songs on deluxe edition
  • Time: 61 minutes
  • Release Date: Feburary 5, 2013
  • Label: Sparrow Records

Even though their sound has shifted more towards pop rock than edgy rock over the years, one of the most enjoyable things about Sanctus Real is that throughout their nearly two decades in music, they have remained consistently good without ever becoming stale. Run, their sixth studio album, falls perfectly into place in the story of the band. Faith takes center stage as they remind us that nothing we face is beyond the abilities of our Savior. The key is about giving - giving our burdens to He who said, "Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest" (Matthew 11:28) and trusting Him with our lives while having the absolute knowledge that He will never leave us or forsake us (Deuteronomy 31:6).

Casting cares to Jesus isn't just a concept to Sanctus Real. Last June, while they were starting to write songs for this album, they had a bus-sized care to turn over to their Lord when their tour bus caught on fire with them on it! While thankfully no one from the band was injured, the bus was a total loss, as was their gear and personal items. Rather than blaming God for not stopping the fire before it started (as many would), they ran to Him with their loss, their pain and their thankfulness. They used the moments of fear to craft songs of faith and kept moving forward in prayer, or, as they say in "Pray," So I pray - God I need you more than words can say. Right here in this moment. You know my heart. You know my needs. You know every part of me. So even if it's just to speak your name, I'm gonna pray.

Trust in the Lord, another strong theme in the album, is highlighted best in "Nothing Between." Sadly, we often seem to believe that if we just know the reason behind the bad things that happen, we can accept them. Thing is, God doesn't work that work that way and He certainly doesn't owe us any explanations. Matt Hammitt sings, I will walk through the fires of life. I will wait in the darkest of nights. I will follow you into the fight if that's where you lead me with a passion that can only be found in one who has done just that. He reminds us that no trouble is big enough to keep us from Jesus and you can almost picture him remembering the terrifying moments with his son Bowen's medical problems or sitting down with the total loss numbers from the fire. This is a band that has definitely walked through the fires of life and come out the other side.

Another highlight on the release, "Sanctuary," honestly shares times of being lost and in pain, searching for peace when it seems there is none to be found. Why, why, why can it be so hard to find peace for my soul? Rest in this life? A moment where all seems right?

Bottom line: Run kind of sneaks up on you. At first listen, it sounds pretty good but not really earth-shattering. The second listen is when the lyrics really start to hit home and by the third listen, you're in awe because it all falls into place.

Run Track List:

  1. Run
  2. On Our Own
  3. Promises
  4. Pray
  5. We Will Never Give Up
  6. Nothing Between
  7. Commitment
  8. Keep Me Young
  9. One of Those Things
  10. Better Than This
  11. Picture of Grace
  12. You Are God

    Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks:

  13. That's Life
  14. Love You Tightly
  15. One More Show
  16. Sanctuary
  17. Run (Remix)
Disclosure: A review copy was provided by the publisher. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.