1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

New Christian Christmas Music for 2012


2012 is seeing 21 new Christmas releases, 17 from individual artists and four compilations. Regardless of whether you're looking for pop, rock, worship, gospel, country or instrumental, you'll find it this year.

Anthony Burger - 'The Christmas Collection'

Anthony Burger - The Christmas Collection

Piano maestro Anthony Burger has been gone for six years, but his music and his legacy lives on. The Christmas Collection offers 20 classic Christmas carols with four reprises that will soothe you during those moments of "holiday stress."

The Christmas Collection Track Listing:

  1. Emmanuel
  2. The Birthday of a King
  3. O Come, O Come Emmanuel
  4. Emmanuel (Reprise)
  5. Avé Maria
  6. O Little Town of Bethlehem
  7. Silent Night
  8. Away in a Manger
  9. O Holy Night
  10. O Come All Ye Faithful
  11. Joy to the World
  12. Emmanuel (Reprise)
  13. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  14. What Child Is This?
  15. The First Noel
  16. Do You Hear What I Hear?
  17. Angels We Have Heard On High
  18. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
  19. We Three Kings of Orient Are
  20. It Came Upon a Midnight Clear
  21. Go Tell It On the Mountain
  22. O Holy Night (Reprise)
  23. Let There Be Peace On Earth
  24. Emmanuel (Reprise)

August Burns Red - 'Sleddin' Hill, A Holiday Album'

August Burns Red - Sleddin' Hill, A Holiday Album
Solid State Records

August Burns Red gives Christmas music a metalcore make-over with Sleddin' Hill, A Holiday Album. From the classic tunes to the originals, this is not your grandma's Christmas album!

Sleddin' Hill, A Holiday Album Track Listing:

  1. Flurries
  2. Frosty the Snowman
  3. Sleigh Ride
  4. God Rest Ye’ Merry Gentlemen
  5. Jingle Bells
  6. Oh Holy Night
  7. Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer
  8. Sleddin’ Hill
  9. Little Drummer Boy
  10. Winter Wonderland
  11. O Come, O Come Emmanuel
  12. Carol of the Bells (2012)
  13. We Wish You a Merry Christmas

Don Moen - 'Christmas: A Season of Hope'

Don Moen - Christmas: A Season of Hope

Worship leader Don Moen's first Christmas release is chock full of traditional Christmas sounds and feelings. Warmth comes through every note and while listening, you'll find it impossible not to think about Jesus - the reason that we celebrate.

Christmas: A Season of Hope Track Listing:

  1. It's the Most Wonderful Time of the Year
  2. O Have Ye Not Known / Good Christian Men Rejoice (Medley)
  3. Season of Hope
  4. Joy
  5. Holy Lamb of God
  6. Agnus Dei / O Come Let Us Adore Him (Medley)
  7. Some Children See Him
  8. Mary, Did You Know?
  9. My Christmas Prayer
  10. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

Francesca Battistelli - 'Christmas'

Francesca Battistelli - Christmas

For her first Christmas outing, Francesca Battistelli covered some of the classics and co-wrote songs that could easily become classics.

Christmas Track Listing:

  1. The Christmas Song
  2. Heaven Everywhere
  3. Christmas Is
  4. What Child Is This? (First Noel Prelude)
  5. Marshmallow World
  6. O Come, O Come, Emmanuel
  7. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
  8. You're Here
  9. Joy To The World
  10. Christmas Dreams
  11. Go, Tell It On The Mountain

Gordon Mote - 'The Star Still Shines'

Gordon Mote - The Star Still Shines
New Haven Records

The Academy of Country Music award-winner's Christmas album combines his signature country sound with southern gospel and inspirational overtures to deliver ten great holiday songs.

The Star Still Shines Track Listing:

  1. Behold the Blessed Savior
  2. Emmanuel
  3. Hay Baby
  4. Christmas Is All in the Heart
  5. The Star Still Shines
  6. Go Tell
  7. The Same Old Story
  8. Somethin' to Shout About
  9. From Bethlehem to Calvary
  10. He Would Be King

Hillsong - 'We Have a Savior'

Hillsong - We Have a Savior
Hillsong Music Australia

Hillsong hasn't released a Christmas album since 2006's Celebrating Christmas. With only the church name and the season the same, We Have A Savior is more ethereal and less fun that the '06 outing. Not that I'm saying that is a bad thing. The project is soothing and full of moments of pure worship -- not Celebrating Christmas Part II.

We Have a Savior Track Listing:

  1. O Come Let Us Adore Him
  2. Joy To The World
  3. Born Is The King (It's Christmas)
  4. Emmanuel
  5. O Holy Night
  6. We Have A Savior
  7. Hark The Herald Angels Sing
  8. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen (Tidings)
  9. Unto Us
  10. Gloria (Angels We Have Heard On High)
  11. Our King Has Come
  12. The First Noel (Holy Is The Lord)

Jackie Evancho - 'Heavenly Christmas'

Jackie Evancho - Heavenly Christmas
Sony Music Entertainment

Powerhouse soprano Jackie Evancho delivers ten Christmas tunes with such poise that you would never know the voice is coming from a 12-year-old!

Heavenly Christmas Track Listing:

  1. I'll Be Home For Christmas
  2. The First Noel
  3. Away In A Manger
  4. Believe
  5. White Christmas
  6. What Child Is This
  7. O Come All Ye Faithful
  8. O Little Town Of Bethlehem
  9. Walking In The Air
  10. Ding Dong Merrily On High

James Fortune & FIYA - 'Grace Gift'

James Fortune & FIYA - Grace Gift
Light Records

One of the best Christmas releases of 2012, Grace Gift is pure gospel worship, honoring the Son of the Most High and featuring powerhouse voices like Isaac Carree, Lisa Knowles, Shawn McLemore and Zacardi Cortez.

Grace Gift Track Listing:

  1. Holy Night (f/ Josiah "Jojo" Martin)
  2. Christmas Time
  3. Grace Gift
  4. Gabriel's Message
  5. Mary's Song (f/ Cheryl Fortune)
  6. Love Came Down (f/ Todd Galberth)
  7. Go Tell It/Wonderful Child (f/ Lisa Knowles & Shawn McLemore)
  8. The First Noel (f/ D'Shondra Rideout)
  9. Worship The King
  10. This Christmas (f/ Isaac Carree & Minon Bolton)
  11. Fortune Kids Christmas Interlude
  12. I Believe Part 2 (f/ Zacardi Cortez & Shawn McLemore)

Jason Gray - 'Christmas Stories: Repeat the Sounding Joy'

Jason Gray - Christmas Stories: Repeat the Sounding Joy
Centricity Music

Offering nine original songs, each from the point of view of people from the Bible, alongside of five classic Christmas carols, Jason Gray's first Christmas album is contemplative and approachable, as is his usual fare.

Christmas Stories: Repeat the Sounding Joy Track Listing:

  1. Oh Come All Ye Faithful
  2. Christmas Is Coming
  3. O Little Town of Bethlehem
  4. Rest (The Song of the Innkeeper)
  5. Ave Maria (The Song for Mary)
  6. Forgiveness Is a Miracle (A Song for Joseph) / Man of Mercy
  7. Gloria! (The Song of the Shepherds)
  8. O Holy Night
  9. Easier (The Song of the Wiseman)
  10. I Will Find a Way (The Song of Emmanuel)
  11. Christmas for Jesus
  12. Children Again
  13. Joy to the World

Jeremy Camp - 'Christmas: God With Us'

Jeremy Camp - Christmas: God With Us
BEC Recordings

Jeremy Camp delivers traditional fun mixed with religious carols of old - all with his rock undertones - on Christmas: God With Us.

Christmas: God With Us Track Listing:

  1. Jingle Bell Rock
  2. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
  3. Joy to the World
  4. O Little Town of Bethlehem
  5. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  6. Let It Snow
  7. Mary Did You Know
  8. God With Us
  9. O Come, O Come Emmanuel
  10. Away in a Manger

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.