1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

37th Annual GMA Dove Awards - Songs of the Year Nominees

And The Winners Are ...


Switchfoot - Nothing Is Sound

Switchfoot - Nothing Is Sound

This year's GMA Dove Awards have several excellent songs up for the various Song of the Year categories.

Song of the Year

  • WINNER - "How Great is Our God" - Chris Tomlin, Jesse Reeves, Ed Cash - Worshiptogether.com Songs (ASCAP), sixsteps Music (ASCAP), Alletrope Music (BMI)
  • "Cry Out to Jesus" - Mac Powell, Tai Anderson, Brad Avery, David Carr, Mark Lee - Consuming Fire Music (ASCAP)
  • "Friend of God" - Israel Houghton, Michael Gungor - Vertical Worship Songs (ASCAP), Champions for Christ Publishing (BMI), Integrity’s Praise! Music (BMI), Sound of the New Breed (BMI)
  • "Held" - Christa Wells - Weimarhymes Publishing (ASCAP)
  • "Hide" - Joy Williams, Jason Houser, Matthew West - New Spring, Songs of Extreme, Cedar Sides, Word Music, Westies Music Publishing (ASCAP)
  • "Holy is the Lord" - Chris Tomlin, Louie Giglio - Worshiptogether.com Songs, sixsteps Music (ASCAP)
  • "Indescribable" - Laura Story, Jesse Reeves - Worshiptogether.com Songs, sixsteps Music, Gleaning Publishing (ASCAP)
  • "Lifesong" - Mark Hall - Club Zoo Music, SWECS Music (BMI)
  • "Only Grace" - Matthew West, Kenny Greenberg - Word Music, Westies Music Publishing (ASCAP), Greenberg Music (BMI)
  • "Voice of Truth" - Mark Hall, Steven Curtis Chapman - Club Zoo Music, SWECS Music, Sparrow Song, Peach Hill Songs (BMI)

Rap/Hip Hop Recorded Song of the Year

  • WINNER - “Trainwreck” - Bullet - Mat Kearney - Mat Kearney, Robert Marvin - Inpop Records
  • “Are You Real?” - Behind the Musik - KJ-52 featuring Jon Micah Sumrall - Jonah Sorrentino, Aaron Sprinkle - BEC Recordings/Uprok Records
  • “Love (So Beautiful)” - BoogiRoot - DJ Maj featuring Liquid Beats - Tony Shephard, Michael Allen, Victor Oquendo - Gotee Records
  • “Stereo” - Stereo: the evolution of hiprocksoul - 4th Avenue Jones - Ahmad Lewis, Tim Stewart, Derek Calloway - Gotee Records/Lookalive Records
  • “We Don’t Play” - Dichotomy B - Grits featuring Manchild - Teron Carter, Stacy Jones, Ric Robbins, Otto Price, Greg Owens - Gotee Records

Rock Recorded Song of the Year

  • WINNER - “The Slam” - Welcome to Diverse City tobyMac featuring T-Bone - Toby McKeehan, Christopher Stevens, Joe Weber, T-Bone - Forefront Records

  • “Lay Down My Pride” - Restored - Jeremy Camp - Jeremy Camp, Jean-Luc Lajoie - BEC Recordings

  • “Let Go” - Another Journal Entry - BarlowGirl - Alyssa Barlow, Lauren Barlow, Rebecca Barlow, Vince Barlow, Mary Ann Barlow - Fervent Records

  • “The Wait Is Over” - Disciple - Disciple - Kevin Young, Brad Noah, Joey Fife, Tim Barrett, Travis Wyrick - S/R/E

  • “Who I Am Hates Who I’ve Been”; - Mmhmm - Relient K - Matthew Theissen - Gotee Records/Capitol Records

Rock/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year

  • WINNER - “Here is Our King” - A Collision - David Crowder Band - David Crowder - sixsteps Records/Sparrow Records

  • “Beautiful Love” - I Wish We All Could Win - The Afters - Marc Dodd, Brad Wigg, Joshua Havens, Matthew Fuqua - Simple Records/INO Records

  • “I Can't Do This” - Chaotic Resolve - Plumb - Tiffany Arbuckle Lee, Matt Bronleewe - Curb Records

  • “Mirror” - BarlowGirl - BarlowGirl - Alyssa Barlow, Lauren Barlow, Rebecca Barlow, Vince Barlow, Mary Ann Barlow - Fervent Records

  • “Stars” - Nothing is Sound - Switchfoot - Jon Foreman - Sparrow Records/Columbia Records

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.