1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

37th Annual GMA Dove Awards

Nominations & Winners


Rebecca St. James

Rebecca St. James

The Gospel Music Awards were presented on April 5, 2006 in Nashville, TN during a ceremony hosted by Kirk Franklin and Rebecca St. James. Performers at the 37th Annual Awards included BarlowGirl, Kirk Franklin, Kutless, Sawyer Brown, The Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir, Natalie Grant, Martha Munizzi, Mark Schultz, Chris Tomlin, Ernie Haase & Signature Sound, Israel & New Breed, Rebecca St. James and Third Day. A special acoustic musical presentation for Steven Curtis Chapman, who won his 50th Dove Award, was performed by Jeremy Camp, David Crowder, Casting Crowns’ Mark Hall and Third Day’s Mac Powell, who were all influenced by Chapman in their own musical careers. They performed the popular Chapman hits “For The Sake Of The Call,” “More To This Life,” “Magnificent Obsession,” “I Will Be Here” and “Dive.” The special presentation ended with a standing ovation, and was a highlight of the night.

The GMA Awards will air in national syndication starting on Easter weekend (April 15) and will run through May 21.

Producer of the Year

  • WINNER - Ed Cash

  • Brown Bannister

  • Mark A. Miller

  • Otto Price

  • Vince Gill

Musical of the Year

  • WINNER - Grace That Amazes - Claire Cloninger, Lari Goss - Word Music

  • Amazing Grace - Sue C. Smith, Russell Mauldin - Brentwood Music Publications

  • Redemption: Power of the Cross - Sue C. Smith, David Moffitt, Travis Cottrell - Benson Music Publications

  • Sing Joy - Geron Davis, Bradley Knight - Benson Music Publications

  • Wondrous Gift - Deborah Craig-Claar, David T. Clydesdale - Clydesdale & Clydesdale Music

Youth/Children's Musical of the Year

  • WINNER - His Renown - Steven V. Taylor, Louie Giglio - Word Music

  • Christmas in Reverse - Kathie Hill, Melody Morris - Kathie Hill Music

  • Christmas Starr - Annette Oden - Integrity Music

  • Extreme Christmas - Steven V. Taylor - Brentwood Music Publications

  • King of the Jungle - Celeste Clydesdale - Clydesdale & Clydesdale Music

Choral Collection of the Year

  • WINNER - Seasons of Praise - Carol Cymbala - Brooklyn Tabernacle Music

  • Bigger Than Life - Michael Neale, Harold Ross, Jay Rouse - Integrity Music (Purchase/Download)

  • Come, Let Us Adore Him - Lari Goss - Word Music

  • Great and Marvelous-Celebrating the Songs of Tommy Walker Vol. 2 - Tommy Walker, Bradley Knight - Benson Music Publications

  • Hymns (Classic Songs for Modern Worship) - Rob Howard, Scott Harris, Ken Barker - Word Music

Recorded Music Packaging of the Year

  • WINNER - Redemption Songs (Jars of Clay) - Stephanie McBrayer, Tim Parker - Jimmy Abegg - Essential Records

  • Add to the Beauty (Sara Groves) - Dana Salsedo - Wayne Brezinka - Kristin Barlowe - INO Records

  • Life (Andy Hunter) - Jan Cook, Tim Frank - Joshua Sage Newman - Thomas Petillo - Sparrow Records

  • Mmhmm (Relient K) - Eddy Boer, Greg Leppert - Gotee Records/Capitol Records

  • O God, The Aftermath (Norma Jean) - Asterik Studios, Ryan Clark, Jeff Gros - Solid State Records

  • The Boy vs. The Cynic (John Reuben) - Greg Leppert, Eddy Boer, David Johnson - Gotee Records

  • The Everglow (Mae) - Asterik Studio, Dave Elkins, Zach Gehring, Mark Padgett, Jacob Marshall, Rob Sweitzer - Ryan Clark - Jeff Gros - Tooth & Nail Records

  • The Question (Emery)- Asterik Studio, Toby Morrell, Devin Shelton, Matt Carter, Chopper, Dave Powell, Josh Head, Ryan Clark - Jerad Knudson - Tooth & Nail Records

  • You Can’t Trust a Ladder (The Myriad) - Sarah Sung - Jerad Knudson - Floodgate Records

Short Form Music Video of the Year

  • WINNER - "Stars" - Switchfoot - Coleen Haynes - Scott Speer - HIS Productions - Sparrow Records/Columbia Records

  • "Apparitions of Melody" - Kids in the Way - Tamera Brooks - Blake McClure - Stray Dog - Flicker Records

  • "Be My Escape" - Relient K - Rachel Curl, Charles Jensen, Anonymous Content - Gotee Records/Capitol Records

  • "Let This One Stay" - Dizmas - Kevin Anderson, Sam Stanton, Steelehouse Productions - Credential Recordings

  • "Move" - Thousand Foot Krutch - Erik Press - Brandon Dickerson - Merge, Crossroads Films - Tooth & Nail Records

  • "Quien Sabe" - Kyosko - Kyosko, Oscar Frenkel - Hola SA/EMY Argentina

Long Form Music Video of the Year

  • WINNER - A Night of Stories & Songs - Mark Schultz - Ken Carpenter - Franklin Films - Word Records

  • Live at Brooklyn Tabernacle - Crabb Family - Aaron Crabb, Adam Crabb, Jason Crabb, Kelly Bowling, Brian Hudson, Kim Ryan White - Russell Hall - Oaktree Productions - Daywind Music

  • Live From Another Level Israel & New Breed - Israel Houghton - Aaron Lindsey - Integrity Gospel

  • Live Wire - Third Day - Michael Sacci - Carl Diebold - Jupiter Project - Essential RecordsLive Wire; Third Day; Michael Sacci; Carl Diebold; Jupiter Project; Essential Records

  • Stacie Orrico Live in Japan - Stacie Orrico - Chris Kraft - Jim Gable, Graying & Balding - Forefront Records

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.