1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

2009 Dove Awards

40th Annual Dove Awards Nominees & Winners - Artists of the Year


Chris Tomlin - 2008

Chris Tomlin - 2008

EMI / Sixsteprecords
The press conference announcing the nominees for the 40th Annual GMA Dove Awards was held on February 20, 2009. The awards were presented at the ceremony in Nashville on April 23, 2009 and were broadcast live on the Gospel Music Channel at 8pm.

This year the artists with the most nominations are Chris Tomlin, Natalie Grant, Casting Crowns and newcomer Francesca Battistell. The current three-time Male Vocalist of the Year, Chris Tomlin, leads the pack with seven total nominations. Natalie Grant and newcomer Francesca Battistelli are next with each receiving five nominations. Casting Crowns checks in with four nods, going for their fifth Group of the Year award.

2009 was the first year that fans get a say in who wins the Dove Awards. Fans will have an opportunity to vote for the winner of Artist of the Year along with New Artist of the Year. Fan voting, which will be conducted through the Gospel Music Channel website and at www.doveawards.com, will open on February 26, the same day online voting opens for GMA members.  The fan vote, which will continue through the live Dove Awards broadcast, will account for one-third of the total vote in those two categories.

Male Vocalist of the Year

Female Vocalist of the Year

Group of the Year

Artist of the Year

New Artist of the Year

  • WINNER - Tenth Avenue North
  • Addison Road
  • Francesca Battistelli
  • Fee
  • Jonathan Nelson
  • Remedy Drive
  • Chris Sligh

Songwriter of the Year

Producer of the Year

  • WINNER - Bernie Herms
  • Brown Bannister
  • Ed Cash
  • Ian Eskelin
  • Wayne Haun
  • Jason Ingram, Rusty Varenkamp

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.