1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

42nd Annual Dove Awards Winners & Nominees



Chris Tomlin

Chris Tomlin

Sparrow Records
The nominees for the 42nd Annual Dove Awards were announced on February 16, 2011. The awards ceremony was held outside of Tennessee for the first time on Wednesday, April 20, 2011 at the Fox Theatre in Atlanta, Georgia. The ceremony was televised on Easter Sunday, April 24, 2011 at 7:00 p.m. EST. on the Gospel Music Channel.

Leading the pack in nominations this year were tobyMac and Chris Tomlin with both being nominated for six awards. Jason Crabb came in next with five, and Francesca Battistelli grabbed four.

2011 Dove Awards Winners & Nominees

Male Vocalist of the Year

  • WINNER - Chris August
  • Doug Anderson
  • Jason Crabb
  • Brandon Heath
  • Israel Houghton
  • Marvin Sapp
  • Chris Tomlin
Female Vocalist of the Year

Group of the Year

Artist of the Year

New Artist of the Year

Producer of the Year

  • WINNER - Ian Eskelin
  • Bernie Herms
  • Ed Cash
  • Jason Ingram & Rusty Varenkamp
  • Wayne Haun
Song of the Year
(song title; artist; writer; publisher - award goes to the writer and publisher)

  • WINNER - "Sometimes I Cry"; Jason Crabb; Gerald Crabb; Christian Taylor Music (BMI)
  • "All of Creation"; MercyMe; Bart Millard, Robby Shaffer, Jim Bryson, Mike Scheuchzer, Barry Graul; Brown Bannister, Dan Muckala, Simpleville Music/Wet As A Fish Music/Wintergone Music/Banistuci Music (ASCAP)
  • "Beautiful, Beautiful"; Francesca Battistelli; Francesca Battistelli, Ian Eskelin, Andrew Fromm; Word Music LLC (ASCAP), Designer Music, Inc./Honest and Popular Songs (SESAC), Universal Music/Z Songs/ Ocean at Night Music (BMI)
  • "Get Back Up"; tobyMac; Toby McKeehan, Cary Barlowe, Jamie Moore, Aaron Rice; Achtober Songs (BMI), Emack Music/Rizzle Music/Jamnu Music (ASCAP), Castle Bound Music, Inc./Bummerman Music, Inc. (SESAC)
  • "Hold My Heart"; Tenth Avenue North; Mike Donehey, Jason Ingram, Phillip LaRue; Formerly Music/Peertunes Ltd./Sony/ATV Timber Publishing/Windsor Way Music (SESAC) - Purchase/Download
  • "Lead Me"; Sanctus Real; Matt Hammitt, Jason Ingram, Chris Rohman; Birdwing Music/Toledo Tomorrow Music/1012 Rosedale Music (ASCAP), Windsor Hill Music/So Essential Tunes/West Main Music (SESAC)
  • "Let The Waters Rise"; MIKESCHAIR; Sam Tinnesz, Mike Grayson, Ben Glover; Screaming Norman Music/WB Music Corp (ASCAP), Curb Congregation Songs/Strength to Shout Publishing /Wave and Romi Publishing (SESAC)
  • "Love Came Calling"; Triumphant Quartet; Wayne Haun, Joel Lindsey; PsalmSinger Music/Bridge Building Music/Hefton Hill Music (BMI)
  • "Our God"; Chris Tomlin; Jonas Myrin, Matt Redman, Jesse Reeves, Chris Tomlin; Thankyou Music (PRS), sixsteps Music/worshiptogether.com Songs/Said And Done Music/Vamos Publishing/SHOUT! Publishing (ASCAP) - Purchase/Download
  • "Starry Night"; Chris August; Chris August, Ed Cash; Word Music LLC (ASCAP), Alletrop Music (BMI)

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.