1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Subseven's First Full-Length Label Release Hits Stores in March

"Free To Conquer" Backed by Radio, Music Video, and Tour


Subseven - Free to Conquer

Subseven - Free to Conquer

Updated June 15, 2005
Flicker Records' newest band, subseven, offers up its first full-length label project, Free To Conquer, March 15. The record will receive comprehensive exposure via radio, video, and a West Coast tour launching in January, 2005.

The band's blend of emotional lyrics and a hardcore, edgy sound is particularly evident on its latest, self-penned album. Produced at Nashville's West Main Studios by Nathan Danzler (Tree63, Kids In The Way, Staple) and Sam Shifley (Kids In The Way, Staple, Mortal Treason), Free to Conquer contains 10 tracks that range from straight-up rock 'n roll to intense, in your face metal tunes. The catchy hooks and contagious melodies are grounded in a message of hope.

"We're not trying to do anything in our music other than present what we've learned and continue to learn as Christians. Christ is real; He's alive, and He's present in whatever we do," comments subseven drummer Clint McManaman. "Free to Conquer communicates that message through 10 songs that we're all really happy with and ready to get out to the public."

In support of Free to Conquer, the record's title track will hit Rock radio in early January. subseven will also film a music video for the title track, "Free To Conquer," to be produced and directed by Todd Strauss-Schulson. Strauss-Schulson, an independent film maker, is credited with videos for such notables as The Early November (Drive Thru Records), Amen (Columbia Records) and Big Dismal (Wind-Up Records).

Its third major tour in less than a year, subseven will debut music from Free to Conquer on the road with BEC Recordings' latest alternative rock band Falling Up. Beginning Jan.19, "The Little Green Tour" will visit venues primarily in Washington, Oregon, Nevada, southern California, and Arizona through early February.

subseven is comprised of Wesley Fite (vocals), Clint McManaman (drums), Reed Corbin (bass), Caleb Wilkerson (guitar) and Jake Sullivan (guitar). Originally founded in Weatherford, OK, where Fite, McManaman, and Corbin attended college, subseven toured steadily before winning the popular "Where-House New Band Tournament" in 2003. The band soon added guitarists Wilkerson and Sullivan to complete its current line-up. subseven signed with Flicker Records last year and released its debut project May 4, 2004 in preparation for the full-length Free to Conquer. subseven: the EP, produced by Bob Burch (East West, Number One Gun), was well-received by critics and produced the Top 5 rock radio single "Emotion." The group has since toured alongside East West and Sky Harbor as well as Pillar and Project 86.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.